

AITKIN COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

March 26, 2024 9:00 a.m. Government Center Board Room

Regular Session Minutes

1.A CALL TO ORDER

Chair Wedel called the meeting to order at 9:02 a.m.

Attendee Name	Title	Status
J. Mark Wedel	District #1	Present
Laurie Westerlund	District #2	Arrived Late
Travis Leiviska	District #3	Present
Bret Sample	District #4	Present
Michael Kearney	District #5	Present
Jessica Seibert	County Administrator	Present
April Kellerman	Administrative Assistant	Present

Laurie Westerlund arrived at 9:03am

1.B PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

1.C APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Motion to: Approve the agenda, as amended.

RESULT: MOVER: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

SECONDER:

Commissioner Bret Sample Commissioner Travis Leiviska

Removal of Items 3A and 8C

1.D Health & Human Services (see separate HHS Agenda)

1.E Citizens Public Comment - None

Greg Smith addressed speeding and patrolling concerns during the upcoming 169 road construction project.

2 CONSENT AGENDA

Motion to: Approve the Consent Agenda.

RESULT:

APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER:

Commissioner Laurie Westerlund

SECONDER:

Commissioner Michael Kearney

A) Correspondence File-

March 12, 2024 - March 25, 2024

B) Approve County Board Minutes-

March 12, 2024

C) Approve Electronic Funds Transfers

Total \$1,456,082.21

D) Approve Auditor Vouchers-

Auditor Warrants - Sales/Use & Diesel Tax, February 2024

General \$173.67	R&B \$224.62	LLCC \$91.02	Parks	\$68.19
			Total	\$557.50

E) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections-

ELAN 02.15.24

General \$3,713.34	Trust \$75.00	LLCC \$995.20	R&B \$477.69			
HHS \$1,161.28			Total \$6,422.5			

F) Adopt Resolution-

Application to Make Retail Sales of Tobacco Products

G) Approve Commissioner's Vouchers

Commissioner Warrants 03.15.24

General \$447,742.46	Reserves	\$8,250.00	R&B	\$26,261.37	HHS	\$9,050.78
State \$270.00	Trust	\$23,068.67	Forest	\$2,293.67	Taxes	\$2,334.10
LLCC \$7,659.70	Parks	\$39,992.12			Total	\$566,922.87

H) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections-

ELAN 02.29.24

General \$6,356.60	Trust \$2,308.97	LLCC \$512.35	HHS \$1,140.21		
Opioid \$16.03	R&B \$515.32		Total \$10,849.48		

I) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections-

Manual Warrants 03.15.24

General \$717.75	State \$18,958.71	LLCC \$260.97	Parks	\$140.00
			Total	\$20,077.43

J) Adopt Resolution-

Application to Make Retail Sales of Tobacco Products - Rudra Malmo

K) Adopt Resolution-

Search & Rescue Donation - Wealthwood Township

L) Approve-

HRA Committee Appointment - Eileen Foss

Regular Agenda

4A Janet Smude - Aitkin County SWCD District Manager

Motion to:

Approve Mississippi River Brainerd Watershed, 1W1P Implementation MOA

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Bret Sample

SECONDER: Commissioner Michael Kearney

5A Randy Quale - County Surveyor

Motion to:

Adopt Resolution - PLSS Monument Grant: Approval to submit grant application

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska

SECONDER: Commissioner Bret Sample

6A Andrew Carlstrom – Environmental Services Director

Motion to:

Approve Gun Lake Family Campground

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Michael Kearney
SECONDER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund

6B Andrew Carlstrom – Environmental Services Director

Motion to:

Adopt Resolution - Approve Letter of Support and Resolution for St. Louis County Regional Landfill

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Bret Sample
SECONDER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund

7A John Welle – County Engineer

Motion to:

Adopt Resolution - Award Contract 20246

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Michael Kearney SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska

7B John Welle – County Engineer

Motion to:

Adopt Resolution - Bridge Priority Resolution

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska

SECONDER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund

7C John Welle – County Engineer

Motion to:

Approve Equipment Purchase - Tractor

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska

8A Jim Bright – Facilities Coordinator

Motion to:

Approve Bid for Jail boiler/chiller replacement

RESULT:

APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER:

Commissioner Laurie Westerlund

SECONDER:

Commissioner Michael Kearney

8B Jim Bright – Facilities Coordinator

Motion to:

Approve Contract with Climate Makers

RESULT:

APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER:

Commissioner Laurie Westerlund

SECONDER:

Commissioner Travis Leiviska

8D Jim Bright – Facilities Coordinator

Motion to:

Approve use of Fiscal Recovery Funds

RESULT:

APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER:

Commissioner Michael Kearney

SECONDER:

Commissioner Travis Leiviska

8E Jim Bright – Facilities Coordinator

Motion to

Schedule Committee of the Whole Meeting - Facilities

RESULT:

APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER:

Commissioner Bret Sample

SECONDER:

Commissioner Michael Kearney

April 8th at 3:00pm in the Training Room

9A Jessica Seibert – County Administrator

Motion to:

Schedule Committee of the Whole Meeting - Strategic Planning

RESULT:

APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER:

Commissioner Laurie Westerlund

SECONDER:

Commissioner Michael Kearney

April 4th at 1:00pm - 3:00pm in the Training Room

9B Jessica Seibert - County Administrator

Informational Only

Fiscal Recovery Funds Discussion

RESULT: MOVER: SECONDER:

9C Jessica Seibert – County Administrator

Informational Only

Administrator Updates

Department Heads Meeting, ICMA Workforce Webinar, MACA Legislative Call, AMC Legislative Call, Talon Metal event, Isanti County visit, Auditor "State of Main Street" panelist, 1:1's, performance evaluations

10A Chris Sutch – IT Manager

Motion to:

Approve Backup Solutions

RESULT:

APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER:

Commissioner Bret Sample

SECONDER:

Commissioner Travis Leiviska

10B Chris Sutch - IT Manager Motion to: Approve FRF funds for Backup Solutions APPROVED (5 TO 0) RESULT: MOVER: Commissioner Michael Kearney SECONDER: Commissioner Bret Sample 11A **Board of Commissioners Informational Only** Commissioners Committee Report Fleming Township Board Meeting, Arrowhead Regional Development Commission, Historical Society, ATV Committee, Arrowhead Counties Association, Rum 1W1P Policy Committee, Aitkin County Water Planning Task Force Motion to Adjourn Motion made at 11:49 a.m. MOVER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund SECONDER: Commissioner Bret Sample **Next Meeting:** Tuesday, April 9, 2024

Jessica Seibert

County Administrator

J. Mark Wedel, Board Chair

Aitkin County Board of Commissioner